Time off from work for coil & stent?

Hey everyone, I’d like to get some feedback from those of you who have had unruptured aneurysms coiled and stented. How long did you take off from work? I think the doctor told me I’d be fine in a couple of days, but I’m sure I won’t be ready to return to work that fast. I’m a full time teacher and a mom, so life is very busy, and my job can be relatively stressful. For those of you who have had this procedure done, how long did you need off work?

Thanks! Karen

Wish I could help Karene...I donot work out of the house...~ Colleen

My surgeon and the radiologist suggested I'd be fine in a couple of weeks. The anaesthetist was much more realistic, suggesting well over a month would be needed, and gave good advice to not let anyone pressurize me to go back before I was ready. I actuallye needed about 4 months before I could even attempt to go back to work parttime, but my aneurysm was particularly large and they blocked off the artery as well as coiling it. In fact I never managed to get back fully and am now retired. I don't think I'm representative though, and I did have a particularly intellectual and demanding job. It takes time for the brain to recover when it has been messed with, so relax, get lots of rest and let others pick up your work for a bit. Judith

Hi Karene,

Lets face it, this is not about their brains but about yours--a few days is certainly not realistic ! I'd wager to say, more like 6 weeks at a minimum....maybe longer, depending, give or take. Any which way you slice, it, you'll still be undergoing brain surgery, the difference is ofcourse the Coil / stent or PED etc. is minimally invasive but its still brain surgery non the less. Don't let anyone push you, take the time you feel is needed. Peace, Janet