Ruptured aneurysm at 40 - returning to work?

Hello. I had a burst aneurysm 5 months ago, September 20, 2022. I have stents and coils, and also a Shunt.

Physically I (almost) feel back to normal. My left eye is still lagging, and I do have some fatigue. I usually take a nap once a day.

I am not back to work yet, I am a CPA (tax season here in the United States). I want to go back to work, but I am worried that I will not succeed.

I am seeing a speech therapist, she thinks I am ready to try to work again, she says i won’t know until I try. All my doctors have okayed me to return to work.

I am worried if I do not go back to work my brain will atrophy. I feel like the best way to get my brain back is to exercise it working.

I should also note that I am a mom to two kids 7 and 10. My husband works full time outside of the home, therefore I am the at home parent. I take care of the meals, and managing the school items.

Prior to the rupture I worked part time about 15-20 hours a week off season, and managed the household full time. I also volunteered in the school as the PTA treasurer.

I would love advice on returning to work. I would return part time 15 hours a week during season, I work from home. I am only working when kids are in school. Am I rushing back? even if it is part time from home? Thanks everyone!

1 Like

How exciting and a bit scary too, I imagine to return to work. I envy people who can go back to work as I could not. My math is not what it once was, I lost simple arithmetic skills with my rupture. Will you be working three hours a day, five days a week? If that’s your plan, I think it’s really doable. If you start feeling too tired, are you able to rest a bit within the time period you’ve decided on? Remember to follow the 20/20/20 rule when you’re on the computer to help with eye strain and the headaches that can be a result. I’m rooting for you!

1 Like