Going Back to Work

Hi everyone. I haven't been on here in a while, but I thought this would be a good place to turn to for some answers. I am still recovering from an aneurysm rupture and coil at the end of January. I feel significantly better, but am still dealing with fatigue, eye pain, and migraines. Compared to not even being able to open my eye for about 3 weeks- I feel much better. I am a high school teacher, and I found out that I have to return to work for 3 weeks at the end of May because I am not eligible for FMLA having only been at my school for 8 months instead of the required 12. I feel anxiety thinking about returning to work and having a schedule where I can't just stop and nap when I feel necessary. How did you guys feel returning to work, and was there anything that helped you get through the days? I am most worried about the fatigue and my uncontrollable emotions that I experience daily. Luckily, it is only for 3 weeks and then I will have the summer to continue my recovery. Any advice you can give me will be greatly appreciated! Thanks.

Hi Laura...I do not work out of the house so I considered myself blessed...I admire all of you that go back to work...especially with the symptoms we all experience after the surgery...I would hold close to the fact I would only have to do this for 3 weeks...and I would come home at night and rest and relax and sleep at least 8 hours if this is doable...Besides this ... I will let those that returned to work help you out...because I don't know what else to tell you especially since you are a teacher and it isn't as easy to get up and walk around and/or into bathroom...