New to this

Hi all,

I am new to this and would appreciate your feedback. About six weeks ago I had an unusual episode at work which involved confusion, slurred speech, blurred vision and dull headache. Checked my bp and at the time it was very low for me as I usually verge on the good to higher side..... Went to the doc who told me I had very brisk reflexes and sent me for an MRI. Results came back that I have at least one anuerysm on the right side (where exactly I do not know as of yet). I haven't seen any neurosurgeon as of yet as they are few and far between.... So at this present moment in time I am no better off than I was before I discovered it! Am waiting to see a neurosurgeon privately but that will be another month at least.... I am trying to remain cool and relaxed but sometimes this is hard... I know I am very lucky that they have discovered this before it has ruptured and am thankful for that..... the other part of me worries at what stage will it rupture, how big does it have to be, am lacking in information really....... I don't want to burden my family with too much so would be grateful if you could give me any advice whilst I am waiting........... Many thanks in advance..............

Hi Anna,

Welcome to BAF.

Unfortunately, the answer to you questions can be summed up as “no one knows for sure”. There are so many different factors that determine whether you will have an aneurysm and whether/when it will rupture. These include heredity, lifestyle, overall health, size and location and the “will of God”.

As you read the stories on this site, you will see very wide variations in experiences.

What I can recommend to you is that while you are waiting to see the neurosurgeon, please do as much investigation about anuerysms as you can, develop a list of questions for the doctor, arrange to have someone you trust go to the appointment with you. This is an excellent site for information and support.