New to being a survivor

Hi I’m new to the support page and new to being an aneurysm survivor. On November 20th, 2023 I had an episode where I was vomiting, lost hearing in my left ear and the world was spinning, we went to the hospital and was told you have vertigo. It took three days but I was sent to a physio therapist to try a few maneuvers to unblock my ear and stop the spinning. I was thrown around on a table a few times and when nothing was working the therapist sent me back to the hospital.

This time different doctor did a CT scan and came back with the news that I had an aneurysm and needed to go to the big fancy hospital ASAP. An ambulance whisked me there in an hr. A day later I was on an operating table being told that I needed coils inserted through my right wrist. I was told that the repair may cause a stroke and it did. I had a 1.5X1.4 cm aneurysm on the left cerebellopontine that took 8 coils to repair. I was in the hospital for 4 days recovering. I was told I was very lucky to have survived. We all are.

Its still very new. Its been 57 days since the procedure. I am deaf in the left ear and have some blurriness in the left eye and so tired all of the time. I’m still waiting for my follow up MRI and a subsequent chat with the neurosurgeon. I can walk but it looks like a had a few drinks. I use a rollator to traverse the neighborhood.

I was told the cerebellum controls balance and movement and plays a role in language processing and memory as well. So far the language is ok but sometimes I will point at say a dresser but it will take several tries before I can say the word. I do a lot of pointing at things. My memory is ok but balance is not 100% yet.