My 8mm Basilar Aneurysm

I hope I am posting this in the right place, if not, I apologize.

I was diagnosed via the ER and a CT with Dye, on April 27th, Easter. 8mm Basilar Aneurysm. My CT scan was read by someone in Wisconsin as no one in Kansas at 3am was available?. The ER referred me to a Neurosurgeon and a Neurointerventional radiologist. I cried for, literally, days. I'm a nurse and I knew what a horrible place this was in.

I phoned the Neurosurgeon and asked, while sobbing, for something to calm me down...his PA told me to SUCK IT UP!! I kid you not. I was devastated. My primary finally gave me something to calm me down and a cerebral angiogram was scheduled for 3 days away. It was then, due to my hysteria, moved to 2 days away.

I wrote a "just in case" letter to my 20 year old who still lives with us. My husband sobbed. I lost 8 pounds in 3 days.

Finally the day arrived and the surgeon met with us before taking me in. He said it was in a horrible, if not impossible place to do anything to, but that the angiogram would give us a better picture of what we were dealing with.(I was already planning on going to Mayo if no one in Kansas felt comfortable doing anything to it).

The angiogram itself was easy and virtually painless. I am also in Menopause and a nurse actually stood by and fanned my face when she could and that was so nice.

I was nervous and the nurse asked, "can we give her something for anxiety?", the doctor said "can we just get this done?". That was hard to hear. I was given nothing, and really didn't need anything. I gave it to God right then and there. I prayed for strength.