Mom had a ruptured aneurysm Sunday

Sunday January 20th my 63 year old mother had a basilar tip aneurysm rupture. Actually, they think it started to leak slowly on Wednesday which from what I understand is better than a sudden rupture. She seems to be recovering well. They’re moving her to step down which I think is quick, but I’m new to all of this so I don’t really know. Her doctors said she will probably be able to come home in 10-12 days. She’ll do outpatient rehab. She seems to be able to do a lot of things herself. It doesn’t seem like there is any brain impairment. I’m not sure about her memory yet.

Can anyone tel me what to expect when she gets home? What will be the challenges she faces? I know she’s wondering when her headache will go away, when the dry mouth will stop and when the tiredness will stop? I’ve read weeks, months and years if ever for the fatigue. I just want to give her all the support I can.

Hi Mimi...I forgot to ask .. "Did they coil your mom's aneurysm and/or clip???"... it takes along time to know exactly what impairments if any will be for mom...The support she will need is patience, and love...and she will need lots of rest...rest is needed for the brain to heal...~ Cyber~thoughts Colleen

Thanks Colleen! They coiled it. She has 3 more, one is tiny and they’re not concerned about it. The other 2 will probably have to be addressed at her first follow up. Do you know if the recovery is easier for clipped or coiled?

Everything with healing truly depends on patient and complications...however, I would definitely say clipping has the harder recovery then coiling because in clipping they cut through the brain...also, a ruptured aneurysm seems to take longer to recover then unruptured in most cases...your mom seems to be on a positive journey...however, when she gets home she may experience lots of headaches for a bit of time...Gotcha all close in my prayers...~ Colleen