Emotional Recovery after SAH

I am new to the support community....

I suffered a subarachnoid hemorrhage on 8-6-12.
I won the best lottery of all ~ LIFE! I am very lucky.
Five weeks after my surgery, I was in my college classroom teaching. I only held that first class for two hours but I did just fine and so did my students!!
My physical recovery from the craniotomy and clipping has been amazing yet some aspects of my emotional recovery have been difficult. I am trying to let go of hitting all the "replay buttons" among other "poisonous" thoughts.

I wish to only discuss the positive approaches one might offer in now healing the emotional aspects of this life changing event.

1 Like

Hello Pat and welcome to this great web site. I had a sah 8-22-2011.All I can relay to you is that time helps. I still go over the events I can remember over and over again.Not remembering three weeks of time has me bugged but those memories are gone. I have strange sensations when I am quiet at night but they are not painful, just strange. I, too, was able to return to work pretty early after the sah and that was the best thing for me. I wish u well. You will be able to find out much info here. We are all so very lucky just to be able to communicate about this info!! It's only been several months for you so be patient with yourself. Will add you to my prayer list. donna w

1 Like

Thank you, Donna. You are positively correct ... we are able to communicate!

You wrote you go over and over the the events. Oh, Boy... I can say that I have done that so many times it's becoming the very thing that tires me out! Maybe the brain needs to sort and then flush it all out. Maybe in time "it" moves somewhere to the backside of where "non issues" are filed away. I am hopeful.

Pat

2 Likes