When to drive?

For those of you that had a craniotomy clipping, how long is it before you could drive or you felt safe to drive?

Hey Abby,
There is no ā€˜medicalā€™ measure of ā€˜how longā€™.
I was put through all of the visual field testing and eye tests and told I could ā€˜legallyā€™ drive. All I was told was ā€œDonā€™t drive if you are symptomaticā€¦ā€. The fact was there is no way I could drive safely, but the GP, the surgeon and the Dept of licencing all approved me to drive.

One of my major issues is light. Once Iā€™d normalised to ā€˜a bright dayā€™, I was OK. But driving down the road, with the sunlight flashing through the trees, bright, dark, bright, darkā€¦ OMG, my eyes were about ready to explode from my skull. Iā€™m about 15km from a shop, 30km from a shopping centre/Dr and 100/150km from the city/hospital. Some days just driving to the local store is too much, but by the same accord, some days I could drive to the city return and be OK. I can never tell.

Iā€™ve often explained medical theory of A+B=C (SymptomA + SymptomB = DiagnosisC), but thatā€™s way too simple for me. Itā€™s more like A+B-CxD/Eāˆš Fā€¦Itā€™s not just the light flashing through the trees thatā€™s a trigger. But also, diet, sleep, medication, exercise, noise, mental stress etc, etc and they are all variable and they all add to my ā€˜Loadā€™. I canā€™t say ā€˜Well, at 3pm Iā€™m going to be symptomatic, so donā€™t be driving at 3pmā€™ my symptoms simply arenā€™t that ā€˜timeā€™ stable. It all happens ā€œNOWā€, if Iā€™m 20km from home and canā€™t drive, Iā€™m stuck. For months after I had a co-driver, my wife, with me and if needed (and it was, numerous times) she took over the driving.