Recovery advice

Good afternoon,

It has been around 2 years since my dad suffered his BA. He still is very cognitively impaired, lacks short term memory, we cannot leave him alone as he does not remember how to cook or the steps to getting read for the day. We placed him back in speech therapy recently, hoping this may help us. Have any of you seen improvement after 2 years? or is this it for us? Is there any advice you have for recovery? Also have any of you hired outside help to assist with caregiving fatigue? We were looking into maybe hiring a caregiver to assist a few hours a day.

Thank you
Bree

Hey Bree,
Prior to my own neuro incident I worked in the disability sector. My ‘official’ role was as a teacher, teaching people independent living skills, basically, how to cook clean and look after themselves in their own homes. BUT, a large part of my role was as respite for families. To give families that ‘Bit of a break’. We would teach people in their own homes, using their appliances and their equipment. There are some places that run classes, but often in a classroom setting you have all of the right equipment etc. But then to transfer those skills to a different environment, their home, with different equipment can often cause issues

For memory issues, something we used to assist clients was checklist charts ie Steps to get ready for the day. For some people their reading skills maybe impaired, so we made picture checklists for the clients recognition of tasks. It was repetition of tasks that assisted in the relearning and that repetition can be frustrating for all involved, so we’d break the tasks up into steps. Then work through the steps with the client. Examine which steps are causing difficulty and why. Then concentrate on those steps. Is it a memory issue? Is it a physical ability issue? Is it a confidence issue? Is it a frustration issue? There are a few things that you could put in place that may assist everybody concerned.