Recently diagnosed

I was recently seen by a nuero surgeon for the first time since learning that I have 2 anuerysms ( 2mm in the cortid artery in my brain, 9mm on my renal artery). The Dr told me that the one in my brain is behind my eye, and its small, and that I should I have another MRA in a year, and if it hasnt changed I can wait 3 years for the next MRA...My dad & aunt both passed away from a ruptured anuerysm, I am on 2 blood pressure medications, and Im a smoker, (I quit on 9/11/12)...does this sound right to wait a year? than possibly 3 years?? Im new to this, and from what Ive been reading, and anuerysm needs to be watched...any feedback would be appreciated!!

Hey Kathleen--

I think Allison is right, I'd go after a second opinion based solely on the family history. For insurance purposes, book what is called a "consult" with another neurosurgeon. Most insurances allow this. Grats on quitting smoking!!!! Keep it up!

Tara

(former smoker -- I quit August 17th)

Kathleen

9mm? Mine was 7.5 and I was under the impression that this size is consistant with needing a craniotomy or coiling. I have been told 3 mm and smaller didn't require repair, just monitoring. Maybe someone else can give their opinion. I chose clipping because I was a smoker, high BP, cholesterol didn't make me a good candidate for coiling. I too am now a ex-smoker.

CONGRATS ~~~~~~~~~ Jeanne

Hey Kathleen,

Congrats on quitting smoking!