Questions for those who have been in a coma

This post went to a topic that was about ten years old. We closed the topic and moved @MattM ‘s question in the hopes that currently active members can assist him.

@Michael_L did you get any responses to your questions above about being in a coma from ruptured BA? My mom has been in a coma for only three days and the surgeon is already very negative about the possible outcomes.

Matt, we really hope you receive some answers from members. It’s very hard for family members when someone has had a rupture and on top of it ends up in a coma. I do recall we have had a few members that were active years ago.

When we perceive surgeons as being negative, it’s most likely based on their experience with a very small number of patients due to the rarity of ruptured aneurysms. I’m not a doctor, but as a patient for 26 days in NSICU I saw a few things - They look for a lot of neuro responses, the amount of blood entering into the cerebral spinal fluid, area of the brain where the blood escapes to, all the different results from the blood work ups, vasospasms, etc. They do a lot of talking (staffing) with Residents under them if at a teaching hospital, discuss (staff) cases with their peers inside their department and are trying all they know in the best interest of the patient. The RNs staff a lot with all the different doctors.

I know when I ruptured, my family was told for 21 days they didn’t know if I would make it. The outcome wasn’t a positive in their experience and training, but each and everyone told BH, they just didn’t know. It was extremely difficult for BH, my parents as well as other family members. I will keep you and your mother in my thoughts.