Personality differences

I’m having some issues with my personality and it’s driving my loved ones away. I have a hard time responding to others without sounding like I’m being defensive, putting the other person in a similarly defensive posture.

For example: This morning my wife asked me where the razors were. From her perspective, she was just wondering if I knew where they were. I, on the other hand, reacted in defensiveness, as if she was accusing me of moving – or losing – them. This caused her to react in kind, sparking a little argument along with hurt feelings. She feels like since my SAH a couple years back and my clipping early last year, my personality has changed. I think I’ve always been a bit prickly, but it’s gotten much worse since my clipping.

Wondering if this is part of my brain recovery and what I can do about it. I can try not to be prickly, but I’m not very good at overcoming that. Any thoughts/suggestions? Thanks!

-Nacho

1 Like

Jared, I started a new topic with your first post. It’s a really good question that many of us have experience with after a rupture. I think you’re ahead of the game as your are taking responsibility for your responses. It tells me that you’re becoming more aware of what’s happened to your brain and how you’re responding, that’s a good step in the right direction.

It’s really hard to lose those we love when we can’t understand what we’ve done wrong much less being able to identify what we are doing that’s the source. I can suggest a few things - learn relaxation breathing or mindfulness or square breathing. There’s a lot of different YouTube videos on it but I think the current name is square or box breathing. Here’s but one video Relieve Stress & Anxiety with Simple Breathing Techniques - YouTube