Monitoring unruptured 3mm

Hi. My name is Amy. I’m 34, a wife and mommy. I was diagnosed with a 3mm aneurysm 2 years ago. It was an insidental finding. 4 of 5 neurosurgeons told me to monitor. So I have been. I was doing CTAs for 2 years every 6 months and stayed stable. At my 2 year scan we did an MRA. The size noted a fraction of a mm growth. My surgeon says this could be because of a difference use of technique? Anyone have a similar situation? My next scan is Nov 6! Praying there is no growth and they can determine it to be a machine difference and not true growth. It’s been a scary journey. But I trust my dr & my God;)

Hi Amy!!
Yes, relax with the knowledge that different techniques are more accurate than others. The CTA has radiation so they can’t do it as often so they alternate with MRA. The good standard is the cerebral angiogram which is catherization with dye.
I have had a 4 mm aneurysm that I’ve been monitoring for 10 years. They alternate the methods and only once did I have the angiogram for a crystal clear image.
No worries!!! Until it reaches (hope never) 6 mm, I plan to just monitor it. For me, it allows them to perfect treatments so if I ever have to do something, they will have an easy solution- I hope.
Best wishes!!

Perfectly stated Sunrise! I too have a 3 mm aneurysm that will be monitored via MRA every two years. With everything else going on with me healthwise, I give it very little thought. Best of luck Amy!

Hi Amy,

All of the responses are right for them and not you, at least I think so. If you trust your dr. and whatever he says at your next appointment, you still are the one who decides if you want surgery or not. If there is any question about if the aneurysm has grown, maybe you could ask your dr. to do a cerebral angiogram. I think then you would have all of the results and make an informed decision. Good luck!