Incidentally diagnosed with 2 aneurysms

Hi there. I was recently diagnosed, incidentally, with 2 “small” aneurysms; a 7mm left internal carotid and a 6mm left anterior caroidal (sp?). It took 2 MRI’s, an MRA and an Angiogram to see them clearly. I’m a busy father of two small kids, ages 7 and 3, and I work full time as a Police Sergeant in a large metropolitan city. Becoming a dad was scary. Over 12 years, my job has been sometimes scary. But this, by far, is the most terrified I’ve ever been. It’s a very complex kind of scared that mixes fear of my own mortality with fear of leaving my kids fatherless and my wife a widow. That, mixed with fear of the unknown, what could go wrong, and fear of no longer being able to be a policeman.

I’m set for an endovascular surgery on June 20 and that day can not come fast enough. I’m told it will involve coiling or stenting; maybe both- he’ll “decide when he gets in there”. My “Interventional Craniovascular Radiologist” seems really confident, which is encouraging. He teaches this procedure around the world. Performed over 26,000 craniovasulcar angiograms. “Non-emergency” they say. They say I’ll wake up in ICU, then an overnight stay, 2 weeks rest, and I’ll be good as new; no restrictions. My neurologist said he’s who she would request for herself or any of her family. I should feel pretty good but the truth is I still worry.

Reading through some of the posts on here has me a bit concerned about the “after”. Maybe I’m putting the cart before the horse by worrying about that right now. But things like fatigue and mental acuity are things I can’t struggle with to be a policeman. Is there anybody on here that had an ideal experience with surgery? …“overnight stay, 2 weeks rest, then good as new”?

1 Like