How to plan life after emergency surgery

I had emergency surgery for a brain aneurysm the last week of October 2021. I live in MN, USA. I came out here from Green Bay, WI 16 years ago for my job. I am here alone in the state; no family. I live alone and have no close friends, just work aquaintances that do not really know me and live far away. I’ve been working remotely for 25 months now due to the pandemic. I am wondering if I am wasting my time left on this earth living in a place with no family. What if I get another one and I die here alone? I feel like I should move back home to be near family I need help again. I am so lonely and afraid to be living alone in a state (USA) by myself. What would you do? I am so depressed over trying to maintain my life as it is and wondering if I’m wasting my fianl years out here all by myself. Any insight or advice? I really need it.

1 Like

@Melvin

First, WELCOME!

I’m sure others will offer their thoughts, too, but it is normal to go through these concerns. I’m a patient in one of Ben’s Friends other communities: rather than an aneurysm I have something called an arteriovenous malformation in my brain. It gives some of the same troubles of an aneurysm and one or two of its own specialities. Suffice to say that the worries of “how will I cope if it ruptures?” is the same for me as for you.

I don’t know how liable aneurysms are to recur so I’ll have to let others talk to you about that.

When I was waiting for my AVM to be treated, the key risk was that of it rupturing and giving me a stroke. My way of coping with that included a number of things but the one or two I want to share with you are that I found it much more helpful to talk to my work colleagues or others that I would spend my day with about my condition – and that if they found me unexpectedly examining the carpet really close up or not making half the sense I usually do to dial for an ambulance ASAP.