Help / Advice?

Hi
Would anyone who has a shunt / pipeline in place please confirm if the swelling does go down please? I can feel it on / in my skull & wonder if it does actually go down eventually?
Any advice would be great
Lucy

Lucy,

Contact your surgeon. I donā€™t have a shunt. But with your vision issues you shared in another post, this concerns me that perhaps the shunt is not working quite right. I am no medical expert, by any means.

I did try to research and didnā€™t come up with anything but care before and after. One of the things they all said was vision issues could be a complication of the shunt. I will keep looking for you. This is what Iā€™ve found so far. https://www.fda.gov/medical-devices/cerebral-spinal-fluid-csf-shunt-systems/risks-csf-shunts

All the best,
Moltroub

Thank you for advice I have a forthcoming MRI scan so will certainly get answers then.
Much appreciated again.
Lucy

1 Like

HI Lucy,
I have a VP shunt between my scalp and my skull on the left side of my head. In order to understand why you can feel the shunt, Iā€™ve attached a photo of my shunt that I found on the Manufacturerā€™s website. Iā€™ve also seen this shunt in person when I met with a Rep a few years ago. There is a valve that regulates the flow of cerebral spinal fluid and a reservoir or antechamber to keep the CSF from flowing back into your brain. Itā€™s lumpy for sure, but it does an important job. If you feel your shunt may not be operating properly, contact your neurosurgeon. There is a setting they have established for you that regulates the amount of fluid that drains specifically for you. They can check the valve opening because it opens and closes by a magnet. Iā€™ve had mine checked numerous times.
Screen Shot 2020-10-18 at 12.59.27 PM

2 Likes

Hey Lucy,
In another post you say you have a stent (pipeline), but here you state you have a shunt. These are 2 different devices and Iā€™ll ā€˜tryā€™ to explain them both in VERY basic terms.