Your opinion does matter

I am at a cross roads here and need some input from all of you fine people. Five years ago I had an anuerysm that ruptured while I was having an orgasm (embarrassing to say, but happens often to others). Luckily my awesome husband, who is a firefighter/paramedic, was right there with me. LOL. I was taken to Methodist hospital and underwent a clipping. By the grace of GOD and my awesomem surgeon, I made a complete recovery with minimal deficit. I am a nurse, was able to return to school and obtain a BSN and continue to work in a busy emergency department. In April I had an angiogram for a 5 year follow up of the clipping. This showed a new anuerysm in vertebral artery at the basilar apex. This is where the circle of wilis is, the portion of your brain that affects your balance, speech, vision and many other important things. The angio was done mid April 2010. On June 21st a coil was attempted. This did not work. They could not get the coild to adhere to the anuerysm. Needless to say I was distraught over this news as I knew what the next step would be, a clipping. Well I spoke with my nuerosurgeons nurse today who informed me that I will not be able to get in to have surgery with my awesome surgeon until 8/28/2010! Wow that is another eight weeks! My question to all of you is, Would you be worried about this delay knowing that you have had a rupture in the past? Would you seek a different surgeon? I am not sure what to do. I know that everything happens for a reason and GOD has a plan. But this seems a little extreme to be walking around with this in my head and having the history that I have. Any insights would be greatly appreciated. Let me know how long you walked around knowing you had an aneurysm.

GOD Bless!

Sherri Preston

Hi Sherri,