Therapy/Rehab

Hello all,

I have been caring for my father for about 2 years. He had his rupture in September of 2020. He was in the icu for about 6 months and in rehab for about another 4. The rehabilitation facility got him well enough to come home. Since then we have continued to struggle with getting him back into daily living activities. He struggles with aphasia and often say things that do not make sense, he mimics behvaiors (pretends to smoke a cigarette, pretends to eat or drink), gets very irritated quickly, and cannot remember much of anything greater than 5 minutes. We do have a program similar to Tactus that we have been using to help with some memory and cognitive issues. My question is, post aneurysm and initial therapy, what has worked for you all? Did you seek outside occupational therapists? Are there certain programs or therapies you have used yourself that help? Should we be speaking with a neurologist/psychologist/PMR? We just are at a loss for what the most successful therapies would be for my dad at this point. As caregivers, we are becoming very fatigued and really just want to help him get back to some form of his old life.

Thanks again
Bree

Morning Bree!

Caregiving can be exhausting. Make sure you give yourself some time off! We actually paid a young woman to come in and stay with my Mom so we could get a few hours to ourselves a couple of times a week. She was really good with Mom so a win win situation. Hopefully you’ve already looked over everything the BA people have on their website found here https://www.bafound.org/. You might be able to get some more help or ideas from the American Stroke Association American Stroke Association or from the Brain Injury Association https://www.biausa.org/