How to deal with anxiety?

Hi,

I am new to this...

I had a burst aneurym clipped 4 weeks today. I am actually doing quite well. Most of my anxiety stems from finding out I yet another smaller one. My neurosurgeon is away for 3 weeks...it was my family doctor that told me I have another one.

He really does not have much more information and tells me to be patient till my neurosurgeon gets back and I can discuss options with him.

In the meantime I am a basket case...
Has anyone ever tried meditation? I am trying to remain positive but the anxiety takes over.

Any suggests would be greatly appreciated..

Thanks Jim…I needed the reassurance …and I signed up for a meditation class this Tuesday…I will also try a meditation CD…anything that will help.
Really appreciate you taking time to reply to me…

Hi Shirley,

I had a ruptured annie 5 years ago and had to deal with anxiety. I was told that this was normal. I did go on Xanax, a very small dose, .25mg and took those occasionally. I did a lot of praying about it and that helped more than anything. I am recently 18 days post op with 2 clippings done on 2 additional annies that were found in April. When I begin to become anxious I just tell myself that nothing bad happens when I become anxious, it is just a feeling and it passes. I visualize myself pushing this feeling away. It is scary and frustrating but with prayer and determination you can overcome it. It is also a normal response after having any type of brain injury or manipulation. I hope this helps. If you ever need to talk, send me emails. I am on here allthe time checking on everyone and learning lots. :slight_smile:
Sherri Preston

Hello Shirley,
I hope this message gets to you when you are in a better place. Waiting fr surgery is really hard, and at the same time i did have some time to talk with love ones and contact some that have been so special to me in my life.