High blood pressure med after aneurysm

Hi, I experienced a subarachnoid hemorrhage following a ruptured aneurysm in April 2012. Had a coiling procedure done. Still have a small aneurysm we are watching. Apparently it is hereditary. Both my grandmother (at 36) and maternal aunt (at 42) died as a result of aneurysms. I am still experiencing daily headaches. Most days, mild. Sometimes, they will be moderate to severe and last 2-3 days. My doc prescribed Verapamil (a high blood pressure med) in hopes of reducing vasospasms (blood vessel spasms) and hopefully less headaches. Anyone heard of this?

Like you I suffered a rupture back in 2010. Headaches lasted for quiet some time unfortunately. I was put on BP meds and went though 2 Costco size bottles of Tylenol before it got better. But one thing I am sure of, if my BP went up my headaches came back with a vengeance. I am no doctor, but the reasoning fits with what I went through. Good luck to you.

Thanks for your response. Yes, your reasoning does make sense. When you say, if your BP goes up your headaches return; does this mean you are mostly headache free now? I hope so, I am so tired of having headaches every day. Thanks again for the info!

No headaches to speak of lately. I very happy about that! My only issue is occasional dizziness. I used to spend days at a time off balance and dizzy. This has been from day one and is also affected by BP. Luckily its rare now and doesn't last too long. I hope one day it I am symptom free, but I am thankful for how far I have come.

Yes...I have heard that some Bp meds are suppose to help with headaches...I developed High Bp a year before my aneurysm...I tried a few different one's until one worked without problems...propranolol...it has helped with Bp and the headaches...They tried me on Verapamil...(good old Bp med)...however, I got swollen feet and hands on the med ... so they had to take me off...It will make you tired for a time, until your body adjusts...~

Colleen