Walking post surgery

I am 4 weeks post clipping surgery and I walk so slow and get tired easily. I was warned that I would feel like I ran a marathon by the afternoon, but I wasn’t expecting it to be still like it this far out. 4 months ago I had a coiling for one of my aneurism, and then had to wait 3 months for the clipping of the 2nd as I was on blood thinners . I went back to work after a week for the coiling. I had planned to be out for a month for the clipping and I had to extend as I am not ready. I attempted a grocery trip with my husband and it was so hard that when we made it back to the car I broke down crying. Any advice on how to improve your endurance?

Hello Victoria- I am sorry that you are feeling tired. I am not a doctor but from my experience I think that being tired one month after the surgery, is to be expected. I had my clipping surgery 25 months ago. My goal was to walk 20 minutes a day and I increased that slowly day by day. Today I walked 17 km …you will be there soon.
I had days when I would feel exhausted and could hardly drag my feet and I felt the same frustration that you are experiencing these days. Have you checked your iron? My iron has been always low and that didn’t help.
Please be patient with yourself. Things will get better.

1 Like

Hi Victoria, keep at it and eat well. I walked everyday about a week after surgery. I too was surprised and frustrated when I went to the market and was fatigued from carrying one bag of groceries. I have always been active. I think it was about three months before my neighbor commented that my walking was back to normal.