Caratoid artery

Hi:

Had a baslir tip coiling Nov. 2011. Am having carotid surgery soon..........am so very anxious.............has any one else had this done?? any after effects??? as you can imagine the last few years have been a roller coaster....................and I'm just beginning to feel like I am beginning to cope.............don't want to take a U turn..........so want to know what to expect??

Had my left carotid artery clipped twice - once in 1991 and a new Annie in the same area plus a fusion annie both clipped in 2012. I’m so glad to still be alive & kicking! The first clipping had no complications, but I lost about 70% of the vision in my left eye after the surgery in 2012. The new carotid clipping could not completely resolve the Annie since it crossed over into another artery, so I still have a small aneurysm. Have a total of 10 clips in my brain & am not doing anything about the small annie that remains. It could possibly be coiled, but there’s a chance I could lose total vision in my left eye (very, very close to the optic nerve). I am very grateful for what the doctors have been able to do for me, and I’m 62 years old! I worked until 2012 at which time, I retired. Am doing very well, & have totally adjusted to my vision loss & accepted that I still have a small annie. Best of luck to you as you move forward. The doctor’s are amazing, and life is so precious! Don’t be afraid… God will watch over you!

I don't want to scare u cuz evey situation is different and there are highly skilled doctors. But my husband's interventional radiologist messed up ...my husband had a 25mm ani on the basilar artery. He bled during the procedure and had a massive stroke. He is now paralyzed with severe respiratory problems. well u survived the coiling . May I know which hospital u had at ? good luck